How Desert Palms Came to Be

Desert Palms Presbyterian Church is a part of the Synod of the Southwest which includes most of Arizona and New Mexico and is in the Grand Canyon Presbytery of that Synod.

In December 1979, a group of Presbyterians, guided by the Reverend Paul Calhoun, began Sunday morning services in the R.H. Johnson Social Hall. In June 1980, the Reverend Arthur Dahlberg was designated as the Organizing Pastor. Desert Palms Presbyterian Church was chartered with 119 members on November 23,1980.

A contract for building a sanctuary was awarded to Taliesin West Architects of the Frank Lloyd Wright Foundation in August 1984. The sanctuary was completed and dedicated on November 16,1986. The sanctuary was designed to seat 500 in 180 degree fan geometry. No parishioner would be more than 48 feet from the pulpit.

Ground breaking for Phase II, which included Fellowship Hall, Administration Building, Chapel and the Memorial Gardens (including the Columbarium) was held on December 10, 1989. Dedication of these additions was held on November 19, 1990. On August 20, 2000, groundbreaking was held for an expansion that added office space, a library, a conference room, and drama and storage areas. Dedication was held on April 29, 2001.

Desert Palms Presbyterian Church is now a congregation of approximately 775 members. We are a friendly congregation, with excellent programs for Christian Education, Outreach, Mission and Music. Desert Palms is also blessed with a fine ministerial staff. Many spiritual, social and service activities are available to its members.

Empowered by Extend, a church software solution from